Thursday, November 8, 2018

SOM (Junius, Constants, Caspian members) stream debut album in full ahead of release

"SOM craft songs of epic melancholy that stagger the ears as well as the heart." -- Onion AV Club

"Serenely slowdive into shoegaze." -- SPIN

"A big, atmospheric mix of shoegaze, post-rock, space rock, and sludge metal, all led by Will's ethereal vocals which give the music a calming, dreamy vibe that contrasts beautifully with the heavy riffs." -- Brooklyn Vegan

"A very particular brand of chunky, crushing metal that still retains a very hopeful, beautifully shoegaze sound to it." -- Metal Injection

Post-metal shoegaze trio SOM are streaming their forthcoming debut album in full ahead of release today via Brooklyn Vegan. Hear and share The Fall HERE. (Direct Bandcamp.) 

SOM premiered visualizer video clips for 4 album tracks, all of which were created by visual artist Josh Graham (Neurosis, Soundgarden.) Metal Injection hosted "Black Out The Sky" HERE. (Direct YouTube.) Brooklyn Vegan shared "Open Wounds" HERE. (Direct YouTube.) Exclaim! premiered "Ten Years" HERE. (Direct YouTube.) And, Heavy Blog Is Heavy launched "Prayers" HERE. (YouTube.)

On their debut record, SOM "craft songs of epic melancholy that stagger the ears as well as the heart" (Onion AV Club) and "serenely slowdive into shoegaze" (SPIN). Drummer Duncan Rich and bassist Justin Forrest build thunderous rhythms that give drive and pulse to the fuzzed out wall-of-synth-and-guitar-noise. Dark and heavy throughout, their music is complemented by memorable hooks and melodies in singer/guitarist Will Benoit's somber, lamenting vocals.

Featuring founding members of seminal Boston space rockers Constants -- and former and touring members of Adai, Junius, Rosetta, and Caspian -- SOM wrote and recorded their debut album at Benoit's solar powered The Radar Studio, along with engineer Daryl Rabidoux (Doomsday Student, Drowningman).

The Fall will be available on CD, cassette and download on November 9th, 2018. Pre-orders are available via Bandcamp HERE

Artist: SOM
Album: The Fall
Record Label: self-released 
Release Date: November 9th, 2018

01. Prayers
02. Chemical Joy
03. Open Wounds
04. Black Out The Sky
05. Ten Years
06. Starless Sky
07. Stranger
08. Reflection
09. Aerosols

On the Web:

No comments: