Thursday, June 28, 2018

KING WHO share perfect summer dreampop song "Ice Cream" produced by The Thermals' Hutch Harris

"Inspired by dream pop and post-punk outfits from the '80s, such as Echo and the Bunnymen and The Church, mixed with a modern sensibility a la Deerhunter's more ethereal moments." -- TrebleZine

"Michael Young's vocals for King Who are breathtaking. As rich as Rufus Wainwright, his tone soars over beautiful, classic synth melodies. This five piece produce an incredibly dynamic tease of clean emotive pop. I defy you to not be blown away."-- The Deli Magazine

"Think the sweetest, catchiest elements of the early Strokes slowed down to West Coast tempos, crashing waves of percussion, keyboards and guitar lines that shimmer like the late summer sun." -- PopMatters

Portland, OR quintet King Who share the first track from their forthcoming sophomore album Giant Eye today via PopMatters. Hear and share the fittingly summery tune "Ice Cream" HERE. (Direct Soundcloud.)

King Who refines its sound on a dreamy sophomore release, Giant Eye, both rounding edges and expanding landscapes. New wave, post-punk, and dream pop rhythms seep through this bass heavy record. The vaguely dystopian lyrics and toe-tapping bite swim in echoing waves, wallowing in the reverb currents. The intoxicating 8-song album is packed with beautiful, soaring melodies and powerful rhythm-forward tunes, driven by the silky and emotive vocals of frontman Michael Young. 

Giant Eye was produced by Hutch Harris of The Thermals and recorded by Victor Nash at Destination: Universe! King Who joined the growing SELF Group label roster in 2016, releasing their debut Us Lights on LP and download in March of that year (full album stream).

Giant Eye will be available on 180-gram LP and download on August 17th, 2018 via SELF Group.

08/25 Portland, OR @ Doug Fir Lounge (Album release show)

Artist: King Who
Album: Giant Eye
Label: Self Group
Release Date: August 17th, 2018

01. Learn To Swim
02. Cryin' Shame
03. Ice Cream
04. Kill Me
05. Giant Eye
06. Money
07. New Balloons
08. On and On

On The Web:

No comments: