Friday, April 14, 2017

Art-pop trio Swansea share new single, members of Loch Lomond, Blue Cranes' clever, danceable album 'Flaws' out 4/28

"Super innovative and ultra catchy. Full of great quippy lyrics that will make you think Flaws is unstoppably fun." -- Impose

"Rich, layered, danceable works that continuously evolve off of their initial pivot points. An immediately entrancing cut, 'Gain Their Grace' bursts at the seams with smart turns to keep the grooves and hooks coming on strong not unlike the best Little Dragon has to offer." -- Speak In My Good Eye

Portland trio Swansea premiere a new track from their forthcoming sophomore album, Flaws today via Speak In My Good Eye. Hear and share the ebullient "Gain Their Grace" HERE. (Direct Soundcloud.)

Impose Magazine previously shared album track "Red Mittens" HERE. (Direct Soundcloud.)

Swansea formed in 2011 when Portland, Oregon mainstays, musician/actress/writer, Rebecca Sanborn (Loch Lomond, Blue Cranes) and drummer, Ji Tanzer (Blue Cranes, Rebecca Gates) recruited Kansas City multi-instrumentalist/singer Kyleen King to expand the sound of their long standing duo project. 

As a trio, in 2012 the group released their first full length album Old Blood and completed multiple tours of the United States. Between 2013-2015, Swansea toured Europe and found significant success in scoring and licensing music for a diverse array of films, including the track & field documentary We Grew Wings (2013), the feature length, multi-award winning dramas Light of Mine (2013), A Standing Still (2014) and Death On A Rock (2015). 

With the engineering/production help of John Askew (Neko Case, Wild Flag), Swansea's sophomore album, Flaws is slated for a Spring 2017 release on the Self Group label. Stylistically, Swansea combine artful narrative and atmospheric sweep with a touch of dancey, off-the-cuff toughness, often drawing comparison to LCD Soundsystem, St. Vincent and My Brightest Diamond.

Flaws will be available on LP and download on April 28th, 2017 via Bandcamp

Artist: Swansea
Album: Flaws
Label: Self Group
Release date: April 28th, 2017

01. Red Mittens
02. Gain Their Grace
03. Just Like it Used to Be
04. This Time
05. Samurai
06. Brighter
07. No Power
08. Cincinnati
09. No Blame
10. Blue Sky (digital only bonus)

On The Web:

No comments: