Wednesday, May 15, 2013

Boyfrndz announce new EP, premiere first track via PrefixMag

"All Day Pass was recorded mostly live over the course of three days. Impressive, considering how intricate their vocals sound." -- Pitchfork

"Reminiscent of early Jane’s Addiction with a spacey twist, Martin’s chugging guitars break into swirling solos while Perez keeps the percussion energetic and unpredictable." -- Consequence of Sound

Austin trio Boyfrndz announce their forthcoming new EP today and premiere the first song via The Natures EP was co-produced by the band and keyboardist Ikey Owens (Jack White, Mars Volta), who also once again lends his skills on organ for a few tracks. Listen to/download "Water Weight" HERE. Prefix post HERE.

Natures is a dark and powerful culmination of the band's uniquely soaring sound that traverses everything from Drive Like Jehu's wiry guitars, Sigur Ros' ethereal beauty, early Jane's Addiction's outer-space hard rock and myriad others.

Boyfrndz also premiered two songs from their recent sophomore album via Pitchfork and Consequence of Sound last fall. The tracks, "Surf's Up" (listen here) and "Hear Say" (stream here) are from the band's All Day Pass full length.

Boyfrndz began in 2010, shortly after the collapse of We The Granada, a band in which guitarist/vocalist Scott Martin and bassist/vocalist Joseph Raines had cut their teeth. Martin's roommate and sought-after drummer/vocalist Aaron Perez (at the time already playing in three other bands) signed on and Boyfrndz quickly became a priority. The lineup expanded to a four piece with guitarist Kelvin Baron for their self-titled full length debut in 2011. The group enlisted Grammy award winning keyboardist Ikey Owens to co-produce and he also played keys on a couple of tracks. Boyfrndz pared down to a three piece following a summer tour in 2011 and soon thereafter recorded their expansive 2012 album, All Day Pass (Spora Records/Boyfrndz Records).

Natures was engineered and mixed by Erik Wofford at Cacophony Recorders in Austin, with Grammy-nominee Dan Millice mastering at Engine Room Audio in NYC (A$AP Rocky, Hella's Tripper, et al).

Natures will be available July 16th via Boyfrndz Records.

Artist: Boyfrndz
Album: Natures
Label: Boyfrndz Records
Release Date: July 16th, 2013

01. All Get Out
02. Moving Parts
03. Daughter
04. Take The Arm
05. Water Weight (MP3)

Artist: Boyfrndz
Album: All Day Pass
Label: Boyfrndz Records
Release Date: September 11th, 2012

01. Colts
02. On Point
03. Hear Say (MP3)
04. All Day Pass
05. New New
06. Not That Sensitive
07. Moses Jones
08. Surf's Up (MP3)
09. Polite In Public
10. When It's Raining
11. Closer
12. Sooner Or Later

On the Web:

No comments: