Monday, September 19, 2011

Fops premiere video from new mini-album, plus, fan video contest and free MP3

Click image above to watch video 

"A fully immersed listening experience, filled with motorik rhythms and glistening electronic melodies, which couple neatly with a songcraft reminiscent of Echo and The Bunnymen or The Smiths." -- The Skinny UK

"They've crafted highly contagious, radioactive content, influenced by syncopated electronic music and the music they loved from the '80s. Fops does it right." -- Ink19

Fops, the Bay Area superduo featuring Thee More Shallows singer Dee Kesler and Ral Partha Vogalbacher lyricist Chadwick Donald Bidwell premiere the first video from their new mini-album, For Centuries today via Consequence of Sound. The clip for the song "Cheater Carolina" is available HERE

The band's 7-song, 43-minute EP is now available as a limited edition cassette (with letterpress insert by Bidwell) and digital download via Monotreme Records (65Daysofstatic, Nedry, Barzin) and Fops' Facebook page.

An MP3 for the track "Cheater Carolina" is available HERE. Fops are also giving their fans the opportunity to choose the song and storyline of a video made by the band for any of the songs from For Centuries, aside from "Cheater Carolina." Just email proof of purchase (of a single track or the whole EP) to fopsvideocontest AT gmail DOT com. Include your idea, however awesome or terrible, by October 1st 2011, and if it's chosen they will turn your idea into a video. 

Fops' debut CD/LP, Yeth, Yeth, Yeth was released worldwide in Fall 2010 via UK label Monotreme Records. Many of the songs on For Centuries were culled from their first album's sessions. These tracks are mostly bedroom pop, sounding like Conny Plank producing Darklands era Jesus & Mary Chain or a closeted Ultravox. The mini-album's themes include artifact obsession, villains contemplating their lives as they fall from the sky, the killing of defenseless creatures, and the yearning for ancestral homes.  

Artist: Fops
Album: For Centuries 
Label: Monotreme Records
Release Date: September 5th, 2011

01. Countless Songs
02. Cheater Carolina (MP3) (VIDEO)
03. I Shot A Parakeet
04. Fops On Tour
05. Dolive Dreams
06. I Shot A Parakeet Too
07. Ronald Wilson Reagan

Artist: Fops
Album: Yeth, Yeth, Yeth
Label: Monotreme Records
Release Date: September 27th, 2010

01. Yellow Jacket Corpse (VIDEO)
02. Black Boar
03. Scandinavian Preppy
04. Ghost Town Hall
05. Loch Haven
06. Solid Copper Huntress (MP3)
07. Glass Blower
08. Amazing Corpse
09. Maple Mountain (MP3)
10. Dragomirov On The Dancefloor
11. Black Boar, Pt. II

Hi-Res photos, cover art and bio:

On the Web:

Fops are available for interviews. For more information, please contact Dave Clifford at

No comments: