Wednesday, September 9, 2020

EXHALANTS stream forthcoming album early via Metal Injection, "Like Unsane meets Unwound"

"Somewhere between Unsane, Jesus Lizard and Dazzling Killmen sits Exhalants, a new Austin group comprised of members of Carl Sagan's Skate Shoes and Body Pressure. Following in the steps of the legendary Cherubs, Exhalants make caustic noise rock with melodic inflection." -- Revolver Magazine

"If you're a fan of bands like UnsaneJesus LizardCherubs, and Dazzling Killmen, then you're going to love Austin-based noise rock crushers Exhalants." -- Metal Injection

"Atonement is beyond unreal to me. This band has taken what many people call Noise Rock and have created a collection of songs that are full of soul and off-kilter empathy." -- CvltNation 

"They are a national treasure and it’s about time they get recognized as such." -- Post-Trash

Austin, TX trio Exhalants are streaming their forthcoming sophomore album Atonement early starting today via Metal Injection. Hear and share Atonement album HERE. (Direct Bandcamp.)

Exhalants also celebrate the album release with a special record release show livestream performance hosted by Safehouse in Austin, TX this Friday, September 11th at 7pm Pacific / 10pm Eastern Time. For more details and to tune in:

CvltNation recently hosted "Blackened" HERE. Post-Trash shared "End Scenes" HERE

Exhalants began in 2017, sprouting from their local DIY and club scenes with one goal in mind: be loud as f*ck. The three-piece quickly cut a demo, played some shows around town, and then set out to record their first full length not long after that. That first LP yielded a strong collection of songs that balanced the moody experimentation of indie heroes like Unwound and the harsh distortion and feedback-drenched noise rock of Unsane, coupled with raw emotion on display. The record received a great amount of acclaim, which helped Exhalants tour throughout the U.S. During this time they also recorded a split 7" with fellow Texas trio Pinko (Hex Records) to have while both bands were out on tour together.

Immediately following the release of their self-titled debut album, Exhalants started working on new material. They spent most of 2019 writing and touring, fleshing out newer material on the road while still promoting their 2018 debut. While on their West Coast Tour, Hex Records spent a couple days getting to know the people in the band and offered to release their next record for them. After wrapping up both West and East Coast tours, Exhalants focused on finishing the rest of the record and decided to take Hex up on the offer. Plans began to emerge for what would become their second LP, Atonement.

The band began recording the album in the Spring of 2020 in their practice space, with a pandemic looming on the horizon. While the pandemic caused some hiccups with getting things finished in the studio in a timeframe they had planned on, it eventually came together with a great deal of DIY know-how and taking some of the mixing duties into their own hands.  

Exhalants hail from Austin, Texas. The members all have roots with playing in multiple bands around the area and have been employed by various venues in town, so they are no strangers to the community aspect and DIY nature of playing the sort of decidedly non-mainstream music they do.  With a mountain of amps, precision pounding drums, eardrum-rattling feedback, and a healthy dose of experimentation Exhalants are easily one of the more exciting newer bands to gain attention within the punk/noise rock arena in recent memory. Atonement aims to push that sound further for anyone willing to listen.

Atonement will be available on LP, CD and download on September 11th, 2020 via Hex Records.(Pre-order HERE.)

Artist: Exhalants
Album: Atonement
Record Label: Hex Records
Release Date: September 11th, 2020

01. The Thorn You Carry In Yr Side
02. Bang
03. Passing Perceptions
04. Definitions
05. End Scenes
06. Richard
07. Crucifix 
08. Blackened 
09. Lake Song

On the Web:

No comments: