Wednesday, July 8, 2020

Maggot Heart (Linnéa Olsson ex-The Oath) streaming upcoming album in full via Brooklyn Vegan

Best of 2018: Dusk To Dusk  -- Revolver Magazine

"They’ve got Joan Jett swagger and razor-sharp riffs that don’t quit, and they blend grimy rock n roll with melancholic post-punk so naturally they’ve created their own genre." -- CvltNation

"Similar to The Oath (or Ghost or Blue Oyster Cult) it has the spirit of darkness of metal, but really it's a catchy, swaggering rock song." -- Brooklyn Vegan

Berlin based hard rock band Maggot Heart are streaming their forthcoming sophomore album Mercy Machine ahead of release starting today via Brooklyn Vegan. Hear & share Mercy Machine album HERE. (Or stream/share 3 songs via Bandcamp, Spotify and Apple Music.)

Metal Injection recently shared "Gutter Feeling" HERE. CvltNation featured "Justine" alongside an insightful interview HERE

Linnéa Olsson's Maggot Heart is back with their sophomore album, which will be released on Linnéa's brand new record label Rapid Eye Records. The Swedish guitarist and songwriter, based in Berlin since 2012, has made her band a much talked about force in the underground with their extensive touring (alongside Earthless and Voivod among others), cross-over hard rock sound, and punk ethos. 

The city as a throbbing organism is one of the fundamental themes of Maggot Heart, explored in several songs on City Girls (2017) and Dusk to Dusk (2018). On Mercy Machine (2020), the machinery of night runs on the steam of many bodies. Locked inside a prison of flesh the spirit will not soar, only in unity with the body can divine alchemy be achieved. Mercy Machine is a rock album about sex, death and the pursuit of freedom. 

This album was put together by Linnéa, long-time drumming partner Uno Bruniusson and bassist Olivia Airey (as well as on-and-off collaborator Gottfrid Åhman) at the end of 2019, and once again 
recorded in Stockholm, Sweden with award-winning producer Martin "Konie" Ehrencrona (Viagra Boys, In Solitude) in February 2020. It highlights Olsson's catchy, but strangely jarring songwriting in ten cutting tracks, swerving back and forth on the rock genre-spectrum. These songs contain a highly entertaining blend of urgency, bleakness and undeniable attitude which may or may not appeal to fans of Voivod, The Stooges and The Jesus Lizard. 

The incredible cover artwork is by Kristian Valbo, known to metal fans as the drummer for Obliteration.

Mercy Machine will be available on LP and download on July 10th, 2020 via Rapid Eye Records. Pre-orders are available HERE

Artist: Maggot Heart
Album: Mercy Machine
Record Label: Rapid Eye Records
Release Date: July 10th, 2020

01. Second Class
02. Sex Breath
03. Justine
04. Roses
05. Gutter Feeling
06. Mercy Machine
07. High Rise
08. Lost Boys
09. Senseless
10. Modern Cruelty

On the Web:

No comments: