Thursday, December 5, 2019

ThunderStars share first single from new album of Austin dreampop glory

Austin shoegaze trio ThunderStars share the first single from their forthcoming album, Number Stations today via Echoes & Dust. Hear and share "Ride" HERE. (Direct Bandcamp.)

ThunderStars is a shoegaze/dreampop band from Austin TX. Formed in the fall of 2018, it marks the return to music of longtime Margot & the Nuclear So and Sos multi-instrumentalist, Erik Kang (guitar, lead vocals). The 3-piece solidified when Sven Bjorkman (drums), posted a random thought about creating a band to use the name ThunderStars, which was coined by his toddler daughter during a stress-fueled trip to the hospital.  

This art-out-of-chaos theme has hung over the band since its inception. After their second live show, their bassist, Omar Richardson, was assaulted by a vagrant outside the venue, which resulted in a concussion and subsequent trip to the ER. This incident was covered extensively in Austin news, which raised the band's profile unexpectedly. ThunderStars demos also were well received publicly, and the band subsequently received considerable radio and podcast plays, as well as show bookings with many touring acts. 

Number Stations will be available on January 10th, 2020 on LP and digital on Mariel Recording Company. Pre-orders are available HERE

Artist: ThunderStars
Album: Number Stations
Label: Mariel Recording Company 
Release date: January 10th, 2020

01. Appalachian Spring Break
02. Oceans
03. Not That Far
04. Ride
05. Sleepyhead
06. Riptide
07. Oscar

On the Web:

No comments: