Tuesday, August 8, 2017

PLAX (OBN IIIs, Spray Paint, Skeleton members) stream debut album in full ahead of release

"A hard wound and bruising rush of seasick proto-punk and lo-fi brawn. Built around staggering post-punk rhythms that twist and turn in tight zig-zagging shifts, Plax's debut is a rallying call, a brash and unforgiving record of scathing distortion and bleak sentiment." -- Post-Trash

"Melodic, abrasive, dark, intense and weird all at once, recalling the likes of post-punk icons like Wire or more contemporary groups like Protomartyr." -- Treble

"A revolutionary mixture of post-punk, basement hardcore, and outsider rock." -- Austin Chronicle

Austin, TX punk quartet PLAX is streaming their forthcoming debut album in its entirety starting today ahead of release. Hear and share Clean Feeling HERE

Austin Chronicle recently traced the local supergroup's origins (and surprising roots rock connection)in an insightful interview HERE. Culture Creature premiered "Not For You" HERETreble recently shared "Night Watch" HERENew Noise Magazine recently shared first single "Boring Story" HERE.

PLAX is Victor (Skeleton, Nosferatu), Marley (OBN IIIs, Sweet Talk), Chris (Spray Paint, Dikes of Holland, When Dinosaurs Ruled the Earth) and Michael (OBN IIIs, eetsFEATS). Recorded by Ian Rundell in Austin, TX.

In the summer of 2016 Michael Goodwin approached his longtime friend Chris "Anton" Stevenson and current band-mate in OBN III's Marley Jones. The subject: starting a new outsider punk band that defies all conventional expectations. The three quickly wrote 9 songs for a demo, but were still in need of a vocalist. At the time, Marley was playing drums in the ever-evolving Skeleton, formed and fronted by the Ziolkowski brothers, David and Victor. Michael and Anton approached Victor and solidified the PLAX lineup with Victor on vocals. Their first show was July 28th, 2016 at Ikee's house with New Orleans Total Punk ragers, PATSY. From here they went on to play with top tier Texas bands CROOKED BANGS, INSTITUTE and ARMY. Their sound; an evolving whirlwind of WIRE influenced post-punk to the straight pogo-punk of DAWN OF HUMANS. They toured Texas in January of 2017 and in March of 2017 Anton relocated to Melbourne and now, being a global sensation, PLAX continues to write and record songs with their original four.

Clean Feeling will be available on LP, CD and download on August 11th via Super Secret Records.

Artist: PLAX
Album: Clean Feeling
Label: Super Secret Records
Release date: August 11th, 2017

01. Boring Story
02. In A Web
03. Night Watch
04. Not For You
05. Black & White
06. Mistake
07. 1 x 1
08. A Few Years
09. What A Waste
10. Location
11. Mold

On The Web:

No comments: