Wednesday, April 20, 2016

Ben Cissner (ex-Tiny Vipers, Windsor for the Derby, VietNam) streaming full forthcoming solo debut via AllMusic, tour starts in May

"A blend of songs that are sometimes weary and knowing with tunes that bounce and crackle with energy, Cissner isn't painting with just one brush. An engaging, thoroughly melodic experience." -- AllMusic

Austin, TX songwriter Benjamin Cissner (ex-Tiny Vipers, Windsor For The Derby, VietNam) is streaming his entire forthcoming solo debut Birds in the Night ahead of release via Hear and share the full album HERE. (Direct Soundcloud).

In an extensive interview about his career, songwriting and quantum mechanics with, Cissner previously shared lead single, "Follow You Down" HERE.

Ben Cissner hits the road in May, some shows with Scott Yoder (formerly of The Pharmacy). Please see current dates below, more to come. 

Birds in the Night is the debut album by Benjamin Cissner, an artist out of Austin, TX. He has previously been a member of Trance Syndicate/Secretly Canadian band Windsor for the Derby, and recorded and toured with Sub Pop artist Tiny Vipers. 

The album is literate, dark'n'dusty Americana with a bit of noise and nods to Nilsson, Cohen, Cave, Elliott Smith, Townes, Gira, Richard Thompson, Hazlewood and the like. It was recorded and co-produced by Matthew Melton (Bare Wires, Warm Soda) at his Fuzz City studio in Austin. 

Birds In The Night will be available on LP and download on April 22nd, 2016. 

04/23 Austin, TX @ Safehouse Session
04/25 Austin, TX @ Hotel Vegas
05/04 El Paso, TX @ TBA
05/07 Los Angeles, CA @ The Redwood
05/13 Seattle, WA @ Sunset Tavern
05/14 Olympia, WA @ TBA w/ Scott Yoder
05/15 Tacoma, WA @ TBA w/ Scott Yoder
05/17 Boise, ID @ (house show)
05/18 Salt Lake City, UT @ (house show)
05/21 Kansas City, MO @ Cowtown
05/22 Wichita, KS @ Kirby's

Artist: Benjamin Cissner
Album: Birds in the Night
Label: Ben Cissner Music
Release Date: April 22nd, 2016

01) Division
02) Fifty / One Fifty
03) Hybris
04) Chippy's Lament
05) Flood
06) Nothing To Do But Wait
07) Follow You Down (STREAM)
08) Bad Mark
09) Alms
10) Ghost / Miami
11) Ballad of a Prawn

On The Web:

No comments: