Monday, February 1, 2016

Oscillator Bug shares first track from new release, BMSR + Hood Internet collaborator’s anticipated followup to 2014 album

"Oscillator Bug's strange sound exists at the previously unforeseen axis of Dan Deacon's maximal brainiac pop and Gary Numan's arty synthetic dream." -- SPIN

Chicago analog synth psych-pop outfit Oscillator Bug shares the first track from the forthcoming release ZP today via The Spill Magazine. The infectious mind-melting/melding track “Soft Rabbit” drives like an electronic Motorhead fronted by Gary Numan. Hear and share "Soft Rabbit" HERE. (Direct Soundcloud HERE.)

 The 5-track ZP is the followup to Oscillator Bug’s heralded 2014 album debut Bursts of the Million (Dymaxion Groove). Hear and share the album HERE

Oscillator Bug plays a Chicago hometown show celebrating the new EP tomorrow, February 2nd at the Empty Bottle with Mark Solotroff. Tickets and info HERE.

Oscillator Bug is like a force of nature in the age of climate change: unpredictable. Borrowing from the revolution-minded mass hallucinations of 60s psych as well as weirdo bedroom pop and several decades worth of avant-garde synth experimentalism, Oscillator Bug is a wild, infectious and occasionally disturbing rendering of 21st Century popular music. 
Oscillator Bug's Zaid Maxwell has been making music in the Windy City for several years, playing in various bands (including Shapers with The Hood Internet's Steve Reidell) and recording others. While currently playing in a couple of more explorative and caustic outfits, Maxwell was compelled to extract the auditory earwigs of pop goo that had taken roost in his brain. The result is a tunefully fun and twisted Candyland passage through someone else's fever dream that pulls listeners ever-inward. 

02/02 Chicago, IL @ Empty Bottle

Artist: Oscillator Bug
Album: ZP
Label: Oscillator Bug Music
Release Date: February 19th, 2016

01. Twisting Every Way
02. Run Along Run
03. Brain Rain
04. Soft Rabbit (STREAM)
05. Fuzzy Peach

Artist: Oscillator Bug
Album: Bursts of the Million
Label: Dymaxion Groove
Release Date: September 9th, 2014

01. Enavasion
02. Bursts of the Million
03. Giimmi Goe (STREAM)
04. Big Snow
05. Feel Rif (STREAM)
06. Don't Go to Sleep
07. Dearest, Arthur
08. Nadya Lyons and the Imposing Peril of a Brave New World
09. Cilycada
10. Solo

No comments: