Wednesday, January 6, 2016

A Troop of Echoes shares new video, band merges post-rock, jazz, indie and classical in evocative melodies

Click image above to watch video

"The saxophone-led, Pixies-channeling instrumental number Small Fires' is an ideal song to spin as the sunny rays of spring kick in." -- PopMatters

“It's jazz-leaning post-rock that's much more muscular than some of the subgenre's weepier participants.” — Exclaim

Providence, RI quartet A Troop of Echoes share the first video from their recent album The Longest Year on Record today via Echoes and Dust. The video for album lead single "Small Fires" follows the album from creation & recording through to the band's tour following its release. It is available to watch and share HERE. Direct YouTube HERE.

PopMatters hosted the full album stream, available to hear & share HERE. (Direct Soundcloud HERE.) The Huffington Post featured the band recently in an interview discussing why bands make great food bloggers, saxophone in rock and soldering wires in a moving vehicle. Read it HERE

A Troop of Echoes has a stunning ability to encompass multiple moods within a single song - at times simultaneously sounding both soothing and unsettling; other times both wistful and hopeful. In that, their sound is truly cinematic. Not "cinematic" in the banal manner used to describe expansive music that's ultimately sonic wallpaper, but in that A Troop of Echoes uses unique characteristics of each instrument - guitar, saxophone, bass and drums - the same way that a masterful director uses angles, lighting, editing, etc., to convey complex details of story and emotion. 

The evocative melodic work of Troop saxophonist Peter Gilli often interweaves with the chiming and textural feel to guitarist Nick Cooper's parts as the two often create a swirling tug and sway driven by bassist Harrison Hartley's chordal riffs and drummer Dan Moriarty's symphonic approach to the rhythms. The quartet's emphasis is on the journey and the impact, their deft musicianship never upstages the song's emotional weight.

Writing for The Longest Year on Record, Troop began working with a wider palate of instrumentation, including strings, horns, vibraphone, vocals, and a drum team. The Longest Year on Record was tracked almost exclusively in the band's practice space by longtime friend Graham Mellor, mixed by Andrew Schneider (Unsane, Pelican) at The Seaside Lounge in Brooklyn. Like Troop's beautifully honed songs, the album production is impeccable in its use of space and blending or contrasting elements. 

The Longest Year on Record is available on LP, CD and download, released May 19th, 2015. 

Artist: A Troop of Echoes
Album: The Longest Year on Record
Label: A Troop of Echoes
Release Date: May 19th, 2015

01. Manifest and Legion (STREAM)
02. Small Fires (STREAM)
03. Arecibo (STREAM)
04. Kerosene
05. Severna
06. Constellation
07. Broadway Ghost
08. The Longest Year on Record
09. Pure Alexia (Is It Silent In This Room?)

On The Web:

No comments: