Monday, July 21, 2014

Black Moth reveal cover art by Roger Dean (Yes, Uriah Heep) for forthcoming album 'Condemned To Hope'

"Punishing, pummeling riff-rock that splits the difference between Queens of the Stone Age and Black Sabbath. Better yet, singer Harriet Bevan can growl and howl with the best of 'em, but she also packs a wicked riot-grrrl shout." -- SPIN

"Rampant heaviosity with ferocious invention. One of the finest debut albums you'll hear all year" -- Kerrang

Britain's young new heavy rock heroes Black Moth reveal album artwork today by legendary 70s artist Roger Dean, whose iconic fantasy inspired paintings for Yes, Budgie, Uriah Heep and many more had nearly come to define the era's sleeve art. For Black Moth's forthcoming new album Condemned To Hope, Dean drew upon vocalist Harriet Bevan's dark lyrics for inspiration on the gatefold sleeve's apocalyptic, bleak landscape. Read more about Dean's process in a discussion with Classic Rock magazine HERE.

Black Moth's haunting, heaving first single from Condemned To Hope, "Room 13" gets a fittingly dark treatment in the video clip shot in recently unlocked servants quarters of a 200 year old haunted mansion. Watch/share the video via Metal Hammer HERE. Direct YouTube HERE.

Condemned To Hope was produced by Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds, Grinderman drummer Jim Sclavunos, who also helmed the band's 2013 debut, The Killing Jar. "Room 13" is available as a digital single now, and a special low-price pre-order of the entire album via iTunes.

The Leeds, UK quintet's 2013 debut The Killing Jar premiered previously via of LIsten to "The Articulate Dead" HERE. (Direct Soundcloud link HERE.)

Condemned To Hope will be available in North America on CD, download and limited edition gatefold vinyl on September 15th via New Heavy Sounds.

07/25  Sheffield, UK @ Tramlines Festival
08/01  Derby, UK @ Y Not Festival

Artist: Black Moth
Album: Condemned To Hope
Label: New Heavy Sounds
Release Date: Sept. 15th, 2014

01) Tumbleweave
02) Set Yourself Alight
03) Looner
04) The Undead King of Rock 'n' Roll
05) The Last Maze
06) White Lies
07) Red Ink
08) Stinkhorn
09) Room 13 (VIDEO)
10) Slumber With The Worm
11) Condemned To Hope

On The Web:

No comments: