Monday, January 27, 2014

Zorch multi-instrumentalist Shmu covers Lorde in Exclaim! exclusive, premieres second track from new EP

"Compared to the manic sensibilities of Zorch, Shmu brings a more chilled-out vibe with elements of pop and shoegaze, opting for some serious grooves rather than spacey synths." -- ALARM Press

"A perfect storm of pop chaos." -- Exclaim!

Sam Chown, drummer/singer/multi-instrumentalist in Austin's hyper-kinetic duo Zorch, A.K.A.
Shmu premieres a fittingly warped cover version of Lorde's hit song "Royals" today via Exclaim! The track is available to listen/share HERE

Shmu's new Chroma Key EP releases everywhere tomorrow, January 28th. In anticipation of the EP, the second tune, "Mollasacre" (a collaboration with Geoff Earle, ex-Freshmillions, current Big Fist) is available today to listen/share HERE. Previously, the song, "She's Leaving" which showcases the band's glitchy dream pop/shoegaze meets blue-eyed soul sound was made available to listen/share HERE

Shmu -- a solo recording endeavor expanded to a three piece band in a live setting -- has just finished touring throughout the Southwestern US, with plans for more live dates to come in Spring. Watch the band in action performing "I've Got Nothing To Show" VIDEO HERE

The 5-song Chroma Key EP is the followup to Shmu's full length debut
Discipline/Communication released in 2012. Like that album's melodic exploration into dream pop, shoegaze, glitch, psych and experimental rock, Chroma Key further expands the pop hooks with hazy layers of guitar and soulful vocals. Chown wrote, performed, arranged and produced all of the tracks which will be released January 28th as a download-only, the first in a series of EPs leading up to a double LP release in late 2014. 

Artist: Shmu
Album: Chroma Key
Label: Grand Theft Zamboni Records
Release Date: January 28th, 2014

01. She's Leaving (MP3)
02. Mollasacre (MP3)
03. Hornet's Nest
04. Made of Stone
05. Do You See What I See?

Artist: Shmu
Album: Discipline/Communication
Label: Grand Theft Zamboni Records
Release Date: June 5, 2012

01. Impressions
02. House of Stares (MP3) (VIDEO)
03. Backwoods
04. Directions
05. Crazy #107
06. Shadowgames
07. Happiness
08. Peaceful Swan
09. Vanitos
10. &hearts (MP3) (VIDEO)
11. Heads Will Fall
12. Floatin' Oculus
13. Turpentine
14. Fester
15. Dangerous Passion
16. Pool Party (Place 4 Us) (VIDEO)

On the Web:

No comments: