Monday, July 22, 2013

Australia's Sleepmakewaves to release award-nominated album worldwide, share track and video teaser

Australian melodic instrumental rock quartet sleepmakeswaves announce the forthcoming worldwide release of their acclaimed and unprecedentedly ARIA award nominated (Australia's equivalent of the Grammys) album via England's Monotreme Records in an expanded deluxe edition. The band shares the first track and an album teaser video today. Listen to "In Limbs and Joints" HERE and watch video HERE

The coup for a style of music so often marginalized to earn a level of mainstream respect highlights something truly important about this band: its music is so immersive, powerful and evocative that it, above all else, speaks to people on an individual level, beyond categorization.

The strength of great instrumental music is its ability to communicate without the traditional trappings of someone singing about specific emotions. The music itself touches each listener differently. And, as in the case of sleepmakeswaves, there is a symphonic transcendence to the band's sound that encompasses a wide variety of colors -- ranging from ambient soundscapes, to soaring melodic hooks and moments of dark, brooding intensity. There are electronic layers interwoven with slow-burning builds, churning metallic riffs segueing into beautifully lush melodies, wistful strings blossoming out of neo-folk marches. ...and so we destroyed everything encompasses so much more than is typical of the vast array of sounds to have become known as post-rock, ranging from Sigur Ros to Explosions In the Sky to Russian Circles to Caspian and beyond. 

sleepmakeswaves first appeared on the global stage with their 2008 debut EP in today already walks tomorrow. Their current lineup of guitarist Jonathan Khor, guitarist Otto Wicks-Green, drummer Tim Adderley and bassist Alex Wilson have spent the better part of the past 2 years touring the world, including performances at SXSW, Dunk! Festival and touring alongside bands such as Karnivool, Boris,Tortoise and more. They have earned a devoted following around the world, for their innovative and expansive music, coupled with an electrifying live show that has seen them sell out venues across their homeland.

Now, Monotreme Records will bring the band's genre-shattering, listener-uniting sound to a wider audience with the worldwide release of ...and so we destroyed everything. The album will be available as a deluxe 2-CD edition including the 9-track bonus disc, ...and then they remixed everything, with album tracks remixed by 65daysofstatic, Kyson, and more, and also as a deluxe 180-gram double gatefold vinyl edition (in three different limited colored vinyl versions, all including a free album CD, a poster and a digital download coupon for the remix album). The album and remix disc will also be available to buy separately as downloads. 

...and so we destroyed everything will be available to destroy everything everywhere on September 24th, 2013 via Monotreme Records. 

Artist: sleepmakeswaves
Album: ...and so we destroyed everything
Label: Monotreme Records
Release Date: September 24, 2013

01. to you they are birds, to me they are voices in the forest
02. in limbs and joints (STREAM)
03. our time is short but your watch is slow
04. a gaze blank and pitiless as the sun
05. (hello) cloud mountain
06. now we rise and we are everywhere
07. we like you when you're awkward
08.  ...and so we destroyed everything

Bonus remix album: ...and then they remixed everything
01. our time is short but your watch is slow - 65daysofstatic remix
02. in limbs and joints - Rosetta remix
03. to you they are birds, to me they are voices in the forest - Klue remix
04. a gaze blank and pitiless as the sun - Tangled Thoughts of Leaving remix
05. we like you when you’re awkward - Kyson remix
06. to you they are birds, to me they are voices in the forest - Atlantis remix
07. now we rise and we are everywhere - Glasfrosch remix
08. hello chip mountain - ten thousand free men and their families vs. sleepmakeswaves
09. after they destroyed everything (AM Frequencies remix)

On The Web:

No comments: