Thursday, June 6, 2013

UK ambient EDM artist Sorrow premieres video & posts full album stream via Exclaim!

British producer Sorrow premieres the first video from his forthcoming debut album via Canadian music publication Exclaim! The clip for the title track, "Dreamstone" features guest vocalist CoMa is available to watch/share HERE.  

The entire album is also available for streaming a week ahead of release via Exclaim! HERE and/or Soundcloud HERE

Sorrow's electronic, beats-driven music floats above the furthest reaches of ambient dubstep, propelled aloft by a dubbed out, sonorous garage hybrid of his own invention. A series of self-released tracks, remixes and EPs over the last two years, as well as collaborations with other artists (including Stumbleine, Asa and Submerse) have rapidly earned him a profile as one of the UK's rising producers.

True to his moniker, Sorrow's music has an underlying current of melancholy, with mournful strings and piano and ghostly vocals, but he balances the mood artfully with head-bobbing beats and a wonky sense of humour that emerges unexpectedly here and there.

Throughout the album, the lush strings and languid zig-zag beats of "Embrace" flow into the Bossa Nova lounge of "Maelys", which in turn yields to the darker, more experimental tones of "Supernova".
From the chilled out ambience of "Dalliance", featuring the sultry guest vocals of CoMa, to the restless, more aggressive beats of "Intruder", Dreamstone works equally well for late night sonic explorations or laid-back Sunday mornings. 

Dreamstone will be available in North America on deluxe 180-gram LP (free CD included), CD and download on June 11th, 2013 via Monotreme Records

Artist: Sorrow
Album: Dreamstone
Label: Monotreme Records
Release Date: June 11, 2013

01. Elixir
02. Moodswing
03. Dreamstone (ft. CoMa) (MP3) (VIDEO)
04. Dalliance (ft. CoMa)
05. Embrace
06. Maelys
07. Supernova
08. Flowerchild
09. Shadowed Doubt
10. Gallows Hill
11. Intruder

On The Web:

No comments: