Thursday, February 28, 2013

Austin anthemic indie-pop band The Laughing premiere first song from new album via Purevolume

Austin, TX anthemic indie-pop band The Laughing premiere today the first single from their forthcoming new album via Purevolume. The track, "Disappear" is culled from the quartet's sophomore full length, Oscillation, set for release this summer. Stream/download song HERE

Oscillation: the flow between opposing points. Or in this case, Oscillation is the wild swings of emotional states, as heard in the equally boisterous and introspective sounds on the sophomore album by The Laughing. The Austin, TX band is the ever-evolving project led by singer/guitarist Logan Middleton. While the band's lineup has shifted along with its sound over the past few years, the core concept of The Laughing remains pop hooks dressed in colorful guitars, synths and noises with a heavy focus on beats and drums. 

Each release -- from a few early EPs to 2009's full length Fever and the forthcoming Oscillation -- has existed within their own unique space, each one thematic in nature, cohesive enough to be considered a concept album, but without the overwrought narrative trappings. The latest album was recorded at Jim Eno's (drummer of Spoon) studio Public HiFi. Engineered by Brad Bell, the disc was produced and performed mostly by Middleton himself aside from live drums and bass.

Oscillation is rooted in melodic exploration of songcraft, reminiscent of artists like Future Islands, Foreign Born, The Walkmen, Echo & The Bunnymen, et al. The songs are ornamented with layered vocal harmonies, lush synthesizers, acoustic and digital percussion, and shoegaze adoring guitar parts. From the lilting charge of the upbeat charmer "Smile" to the shimmying lament of "Say Goodbye," the album fittingly moves through a range of emotions and universal themes. 

"It's not exactly a break-up record," Middleton says, "but this is the first time I have written a sort of personal record dealing with the duality of right and wrong, moving forward and stepping back." While previous The Laughing releases were lyrically more abstract, Oscillation sees Middleton singing of more direct and relatable life experience. There is a theme of duality throughout the album, most clearly in the music itself as it deftly swings from major to minor keys, somber keyboards and stomping drums, blissed-out guitars and Middleton's signature simultaneously happy/sad sounding vocals. 

Oscillation will be available summer 2013 on CD and download. 

03/02  Austin, TX @ Mohawk
03/14  Austin, TX @ Bottecelli's (w/ The Oh Sees)
03/17  Austin, TX @ Sidebar

Artist: The Laughing
Album: Oscillation
Label: The Laughing
Release Date: Summer 2013

01. Animal
02. Disappear (MP3)
03. Afghan Girl
04. Say Goodbye
05. Day I Died
06. Smile
07. Strange
08. Sydney
09. Melody
10. Oscillation

On The Web:

No comments: