Monday, September 17, 2012

UK electronic artist Stumbleine premieres stunning dreampop rendition of Mazzy Star song via RCRD LBL

Bristol, UK electronic artist Stumbleine premieres the first song from the forthcoming genre-defying full length debut, Spiderwebbed via RCRD LBL today. The tune, a lush and hazy revision of Mazzy Star's 90s hit "Fade Into You" is available to stream/download HERE

Emerging from Bristol's ever-fertile music scene (perhaps most famous for legends like Massive Attack, Portishead and Tricky, but also widely considered "Britain's most musical city"), Stumbleine has built a sizable following in less than a year with several self-released EPs and a recent compilation album, in addition to collaborative outings with fellow producer ASA. He also reports for active duty as one third of dubstep envelope pushers Swarms, whose music has found favor among tastemaker BBC DJs such as Mary Anne Hobbs.

On Spiderwebbed, his enrapturing, genre transcending full length debut; Stumbleine beautifully showcases the multifaceted nature of his music, seamlessly weaving fractured beats, synths, hazy distorted guitars and soulful vocals to create glowing, expansive sonic vistas. In keeping with the album’s title, the music hangs gossamer like, a delicate suspension of sound; beautifully anchored to an array of solid syncopated beats.

Guest vocalists CoMa and Steffaloo contribute their ample talents to the dreamy "The Beat My Heart Skips" and a cover of Mazzy Star’s "Fade Into You", and Birds of Passage lend warmth and poignancy to "Catherine Wheel." Elsewhere, silky, spectral R'n'B vocals spin plaintively through the shimmering "Capulet" and "Solar Flare", whilst the chilled, sweeping cadences of "Honey Comb" and "The Corner Of Her Eye" offer perfect counterweight to the taut urban swing of "If You" and "Cherry Blossom."

Spiderwebbed will be available November 13th via Monotreme Records on CD and download as well as 180 gm vinyl LP, which comes with a free copy of the album CD.

Artist: Stumbleine
Album: Spiderwebbed
Label: Monotreme Records
Release Date: November 13th, 2012

01. Cherry Blossom
02. If You
03. Capulet
04. The Beat My Heart Skips (ft. CoMa)
05. Honey Comb
06. Solar Flare
07. Fade Into You (ft. Steffaloo) (MP3)
08. Kaleidoscope
09. The Corner of Her Eye
10. Catherine Wheel (ft. Birds Of Passage) 

On the Web:

1 comment:

Peter Pascal said...

Beautiful banner at your site as well, I am reminded of some wall paintings by the Mexican artist, Diego Rivera, such as
this one
. You browse more murals of his at