Wednesday, August 15, 2012

Boyfrndz launch "Hear Say" via Consequence of Sound, announce fall tour

Austin trio Boyfrndz premiere the first song from their forthcoming album today via Consequence of Sound. The soaring track, "Hear Say" is culled from All Day Pass their sophomore album out this fall. Stream/download song HERE

Following Texas dates with Fang Island, Adebisi Shank and Coheed and Cambria this week, Boyfrndz launch U.S. tour dates in September in support of the album's release. Complete dates to be announced soon, please see current schedule below. 

Boyfrndz began in 2010, shortly after the collapse of We The Granada, a band in which guitarist/vocalist Scott Martin and bassist/vocalist Joseph Raines had cut their teeth. Martin's roommate and sought-after drummer/vocalist Aaron Perez (at the time already playing in three other bands) signed on and Boyfrndz quickly became a priority. The lineup expanded to a four piece with guitarist Kelvin Baron for their self-titled full length debut in 2011. The group enlisted Grammy award winning keyboardist Ikey Owens (The Mars Volta, Jack White) to co-produce and he also played keys on a couple of tracks. Boyfrndz pared down to a three piece following a summer tour in 2011 and soon thereafter set about writing new songs resulting in the And So It Goes... 5-track EP in February 2012 and the band's expansive forthcoming album, All Day Pass.

Kicking off with the droning fade in of "Colts", All Day Pass begins with Martin's vocals mirroring his ringing guitar notes and Perez's thunderous toms and Raines' lithe bass playing drive the song's syncopated rhythm through multiple time signature shifts over the course of the tune's 4:11 duration. "On Point" takes a decidedly more sinister turn, with an ominous build up and rollicking turnaround vaguely reminiscent of the oceanic feel of Jane's Addiction's Nothing's Shocking. Elsewhere, passages touch upon the dreamy haze of Sonic Youth and entrancing melodies of Animal Collective wedded to the warped pop prowess of Tera Melos. Throughout, All Day Pass is a captivating hybrid of technical precision guiding a soaring and ethereal melodic haze.

All Day Pass was recorded live in a whirlwind three days at the Shelter studio in Austin with few overdubs. The resulting album captures the trio's ferocious energy and impressive precision. Engineer Chris Seyler (touring sound man for Dillinger Escape Plan) oversaw recording and mixing, with Dan Millice at Engine Room Audio in NYC mastering (Boyfrndz EP, Hella's Tripper, et al). 

All Day Pass will be available as a self-release on CD and download on September 11th, 2012 and LP via Spora Records shortly thereafter. 

08/16  Pharr, TX @ Pharr Events Center (w/ Coheed and Cambria)
08/17  Austin, TX @ Mohawk (w/ Fang Island, Adebisi Shank)

Artist: Boyfrndz
Album: All Day Pass
Label: Boyfrndz Records
Release Date: September 11th, 2012

01. Colts
02. On Point
03. Hear Say (MP3)
04. All Day Pass
05. New New
06. Not That Sensitive
07. Moses Jones
08. Surf's Up
09. Polite In Public
10. When It's Raining
11. Closer
12. Sooner Or Later

On the Web:

No comments: