Monday, July 23, 2012

Zorch multi-instrumentalist Shmu premieres new "Pool Party" video via Consequence of Sound

Click image above to watch video

"Compared to the manic sensibilities of Zorch, Shmu brings a more chilled-out vibe with elements of pop and shoegaze, opting for some serious grooves rather than spacey synths." -- ALARM Press

Sam Chown, drummer/singer/multi-instrumentalist in Austin's hyper-kinetic duo Zorch premieres a new video today via Consequence of Sound. The clip, for "Pool Party (Place 4 Us)" is culled from his solo debut under the moniker Shmu. Watch video HERE. The entire album, Discipline/Communication is available for streaming HERE.

The track and video for "&hearts" was recently posted by Canadian mega music tabloid Exclaim! and available to stream/download HERE. And, Shmu previously released the first album track "House of Stares" at Consequence of Sound. The sultry tune is available to stream/download HERE

"House of Stares" showcases a much more subdued and dare we say "pop" side of the musician's talents seldom heard in Zorch. Meanwhile, "&hearts" takes some of Zorch's spastic glitch and infuses a pop sensibility. Throughout, Shmu's album Discipline/Communication is a melodic exploration into combinations of pop, shoegaze, glitch, psych and experimental rock into a cohesive and original whole spread across the disc's 16-tracks. 

Chown wrote, produced, recorded and performed all instruments on the album. Discipline/Communication was released June 5th on CD and download via Grand Theft Zamboni Records.

Artist: Shmu
Album: Discipline/Communication
Label: Grand Theft Zamboni Records
Release Date: June 5, 2012

01. Impressions
02. House of Stares (MP3) (VIDEO)
03. Backwoods
04. Directions
05. Crazy #107
06. Shadowgames
07. Happiness
08. Peaceful Swan
09. Vanitos
10. &hearts (MP3) (VIDEO)
11. Heads Will Fall
12. Floatin' Oculus
13. Turpentine
14. Fester
15. Dangerous Passion
16. Pool Party (Place 4 Us) (VIDEO)

On the Web:

No comments: