Friday, March 11, 2011

L.A. indie-pop faves ROBOTANISTS announce multiple SXSW shows, new album Plans In Progress out now

"Robotanists root around in the electro-noir explored by Mazzy Star and Portishead, with Ellquist's sultry voice narrating the way through forays into the dark both metaphorical and literal. Their penchant for the atmospheric never becomes an overbearing aesthetic, though - you can take the title of one of their songs, 'Subtlety Is Underrated,' seriously." -- Kevin Bronson, Buzz Bands

“Female-fronted indie at its finest, a soulful voice cast over booming guitar and downright pretty production quality… as sincere as it is dancy, adjectives that normally take effort to pair together." --

Los Angeles' glamorous indie-pop group ROBOTANISTS have announced multiple performances during the SXSW Music Festival in Austin, TX next week. For complete details, including RSVP info and directions, check out  

Meanwhile, this weekend in L.A., the quartet plays the Project Ethos event for L.A. Fashion Week at the Avalon on Saturday night, where several designers debut their new lines along with live music. See all upcoming ROBOTANISTS live dates below.   

ROBOTANISTS recently released their third full length album, Plans In Progress, which was produced by Danny Kalb (Beck, Karen O, Feist). RCRD LBL posted the premiere of the song, "On/Off The Ledge", which is available HERE. Check out the complete Plans In Progress album HERE.  

And, ROBOTANISTS recently made headlines worldwide for reinterpreting, recording and releasing their own version of Radiohead's new album The King of Limbs in its entirety, just 24 hours after its release. Their version of the album can be streamed HERE.  

The quartet, often compared to Florence + The Machine, Jenny Lewis,The Xx, et al., has quickly gained attention for its packed L.A. residency in February as well as strong debut on alternative specialty and college radio with Plans In Progress. Comprised of songwriters Sarah Ellquist (vocals & keys) and Daniel DeBlanke (guitar, keys) and rhythm section Keith Boyarsky (bass) and Preston Scott Phillips (drums), ROBOTANISTS have spent the past couple of years spreading their big choruses and delicate prose across North America on tour and on the radio. Their breakthrough single "Wait a Minute Here" (from the band's 2008 debut, Close Down The Woods) topped charts in Los Angeles (KCRW, KROQ) and other major cities across the US. "Subtlety is Underrated" was recently featured in a particularly provocative striptease scene on the 2011 season premiere of The Jersey Shore.

03/12    Los Angeles, CA @ The Avalon (Project Ethos - LA Fashion Week) 
03/15    Austin, TX @ Music Tech Mashup Party (12:45 pm)
03/15    Austin, TX @ The Safe House - Easley Management show (acoustic - 8:15 pm) 
03/17    Austin, TX @ Lipstick24 - All Rights Reserved show (2:15 pm) 
03/18    Austin, TX @ The Blind Pig - Balcony TV (10:30 am)
03/18    Austin, TX @ The Factory - The Sessions show (1:00 pm) 
03/18    Austin, TX @ Bar 96 - SXSW showcase (5:00 pm)
03/20    Austin, TX @ Cherrywood - Sweet Relief / IPGB Day Party (2:15 pm) 

Album: Plans In Progress
Label: Overhead Records
Release Date: February 15th, 2011

Track List:
1. Have We Met Before?
2. Luggage vs. Baggage
3. ON/OFF The Ledge (MP3)
4. The Ghost You're Haunting
5. The Lack Thereof
6. Plans in Progress
7. Terminal A
8. Neighbors

Album: The King of Limbs (FREE DOWNLOAD)
Label: Overhead Records
Release Date: February 21st, 2011

Track List:
1. Bloom
2. Morning Mr. Magpie
3. Little By Little
4. Feral
5. Lotus Flower
6. Codex
7. Give Up The Ghost
8. Separator

Shapes and Variations

Album: Shapes and Variations
Label: Overhead Records
Release Date: March 30th, 2010

Track List:
1. Exiled State of Mind (reworking of Jay-Z's "Empire State of Mind") (MP3) (VIDEO)
2. Dance, Dance, Dance (Lykke Li)
3. Are You Really Going Out With Her? (reworking of Joe Jackson's "Is She Really Going Out With Him?")
4. All You Ever Wanted (The Black Keys)
5. Heaven (Bryan Adams)
6. Never Tear Us Apart (INXS)
7. Glass In Your Headlights (reworking of Phillip Glass' "Glassworks, Outro")

On the Web:

No comments: