Tuesday, April 3, 2018

Henry Kaiser/Chris Cogburn/Ingebrigt Håker Flaten/Bob Hoffnar group stream full album ahead of release

"An expressionistic, free-form fusion alternating between aggressive musical pile-ons and anti-gravitational space sections." -- Austin Chronicle

The quartet of spectacular musicians Chris Cogburn / Ingebrigt Håker Flaten / Bob Hoffnar / Henry Kaiser are streaming their forthcoming collaborative album starting today, ahead of its Friday release. Hear and share En Las Montañas de Excesos via Big Takeover Magazine and/or Soundcloud

Legendary guitarist Henry Kaiser recently spoke with Austin Chronicle. about the album, sharing the opening track "The Shadow Over Overkill" HERE. (Direct Bandcamp.)

The interview includes great quotes from veteran guitarist Kaiser discussing the project (which he defines as "just rock'n'roll") and its contrast to most music today. Kaiser says of mainstream pop music: "It's indie rock that's about as experimental as Perry Como." 

En Las Montañas de Excesos is the unease & frisson of scaling a mountain, a trek with long moments to peer over the edge or stare far off into your thoughts. From the collective fingertips & minds of drummer/percussionist Chris Cogburn (SSBT), prolific bassist Ingebrigt Håker Flaten (The Young Mothers; Atomic), composer & pedal steel guitar maestro Bob Hoffnar (The Mood Illusion; Indoor Life) & renowned guitar experimentalist Henry Kaiser, the album is a towering edifice of free rock, fusion and new music.

In its digital format, the album is four unedited peaks; the LP version is two contiguous sides (of combined edited peaks). Coming out Friday, 6 April via Self Sabotage Records (Pre-order at Big Cartel-Self Sabotage).

Chris Cogburn - drums
Ingebrigt Håker Flaten - electric bass
Bob Hoffnar - pedal steel guitar
Henry Kaiser - electric guitar

Recorded April 3, 2015 at Congress House Studio (Austin TX)
engineering: Andre Moran & Mark Hallman
mixing: Simon Tassano & Henry Kaiser
re-mastering: Jeremy Goody & Henry Kaiser at Megasonic Sound (Oakland CA)
LP mastering: Rob Halverson at Halversonics Recording (Austin TX)
art direction & cover painting: Brandy Gale
production: Henry Kaiser

Artist: Chris Cogburn / Ingebrigt Håker Flaten / Bob Hoffnar / Henry Kaiser
Album: En Las Montañas de Excesos
Record Label: Self Sabotage Records
Release Date: April 6th, 2018

01. The Shadow Over Overkill
02. The Colour Out Of Superfluity
03. The Luxuriance Horror
04. The Dream Quest Of The Unknown Plethora
05. En Las Montañas de Excesos, part I
06. En Las Montañas de Excesos, part II

On the Web:

No comments: