Thursday, June 23, 2016

Milemarker premiere unreleased track from forthcoming reissue at Brooklyn Vegan, new album & U.S. tour in August

"While 'Carrboro' shows that Milemarker hasn’t lost its ability to drape new wave flourishes atop its post-hardcore attack, it’s clearly approaching its new album with its eyes on the future instead of the past." -- The AV Club

Reunited 90s-00s synth punk band Milemarker premiere an unreleased track from the forthcoming reissue of their landmark Y2K album Frigid Forms Sell (Jade Tree/Lovitt) today via Brooklyn Vegan. The reissue is the album's first time on vinyl in 16 years, and includes 7 unreleased tracks. The song "Industry For the Blind (demo)" is available to hear and share HERE. (Direct Soundcloud). 

The Onion AV Club previously shared the first track from Milemarker's upcoming NEW full length, Overseas which comes out on August 26th via Lovitt Records. Hear & share the first taste, "Carrboro" HERE. (Direct Soundcloud). 

The band embarks on their first U.S. tour since 2008 this August, including performing at the Wrecking Ball ATL festival in Atlanta, GA. Please see all dates below. 

Formed 1997 in Chapel Hill, North Carolina by Al Burian, Dave Laney and Ben Davis, Milemarker quickly gained recognition in the independent music scene for their explosive live shows and adventurous instrumentation. The band became known for its combination of post-hardcore punk with new wave electronics, and found a solid touring line-up 1999-2004 in Burian, Laney and singer/synth player Roby Newton. 

Milemarker played nearly 1000 shows in support of their releases Frigid Forms Sell (Lovitt, 2000) and Anaesthetic (Jade Tree, 2001), touring extensively in North America, Europe and Japan, along the way sharing the stage with bands such as Wire, Mission of Burma, At The Drive-In, The Hives, Thursday, Blood Brothers, International Noise Conspiracy, High On Fire, The Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Muff Potter, Cave In, Les Savy Fav, Spoon, Monochrome, Turbostaat, The Faint, The Locust, and Hot Snakes.
Milemarker added double drummers Tony Lazzara and Noah Leger as well as string arrangements from siblings Beth and Tim Remis for the recording and US tour around Ominosity (Eyeball, 2005). In 2008 the band completed a US and European tour with founding member Ben Davis, including performances at the SXSW and Fusion festivals.
In 2009, guitarist Dave Laney moved to Hamburg and focused his musical energy into the band Auxes, while bassist Al Burian moved to Berlin to pursue literary and journalistic interests. A re-ignition of the band on German soil seemed inevitable. Milemarker returned to the stage in 2015 with Lena Kilkka on keys and vocals and Ezra Cale on drums.

On June 24th, 2016, Lovitt Records reissues Frigid Forms Sell, the band's third album on vinyl for the first time in 16 years. The digital edition includes demo versions of select album tracks as well. (Pre-order HERE.)

The band's new album, Overseas will be available on LP and download via Lovitt Records on August 26th, 2016. 

08/11 Charlotte NC @ Milestone
08/13 Atlanta GA @ The Wrecking Ball ATL
08/14 Nashville TN @ The End
08/15 St. Louis MO @ Off Broadway
08/16 Milwaukee WI @ The Cactus Club
08/17 Minneapolis MN @ Triple Rock Social Club
08/19 Chicago IL @ Empty Bottle
08/20 Lansing MI @ Mac’s Bar
08/21 Cleveland OH @ Now That’s Class Lounge
08/22 Philadelphia PA @ The Boot & Saddle
08/23 Allston MA @ Great Scott
08/24 Brooklyn NY @ Shea Stadium
08/25 Brooklyn NY @ Saint Vitus
08/26 Washington DC @ Rock & Roll Hotel
08/27 Carrboro NC @ Cat’s Cradle

Artist: Milemarker
Album: Overseas
Record label: Lovitt Records
Release date: August 26, 2016

01. Conditional Love
02. Untamed Ocean
03. Carrboro (STREAM)
04. The Dreamer
05. Blue Flag
06. Luxuria
07. Recognition
08. Uh Ah
09. Supercomputer

Artist: Milemarker
Album: Frigid Forms Sell
Record label: Lovitt Records
Release date: June 24, 2016

01. Untitled
02. Frigid Forms Sell You Warmth 
03. Signal Froze 
04. Sex Jam One: Sexual Machinery 
05. Sex Jam Two: Insect Incest 
06. Cryogenic Sleep 
07. Industry for the Blind 
08. Tundra 
09. Internet Relay Chat With The Central Intelligence Agency 
10. Server Error 
11. Platinum

Bonus demo tracks:
01. Tundra (demo)
02. Signal Froze (demo)
03. Cryogenic Sleep (demo)
04. Industry For the Blind (demo) (STREAM)
05. Sex Jam One: Sexual Machinery (demo)
06. Server Error (demo)
07. Chronology of the Service Industry (demo)

On The Web:

No comments: