Wednesday, January 11, 2012

Zechs Marquise premiere wild new video w/ surprise cameos, intense real gangsters, animal-headed people and more

Click image above to watch video

"Forget the Van Halens, if you want to know about a true musical dynasty, look no further than the Rodriguez-Lopez's! In between Omar, Marcel, and Marfred, these talented hermanos are changing the face of free-form jamming." -- MTV Tres
"Thrusting listeners into chase scenes through psychedelic dreamscapes is nothing new for El Paso prog rock instrumentalists Zechs Marquise. However, the major difference on Getting Paid isn't the fear of being chased, but of what's running up behind you." -- Los Angeles Times
The Mars Volta sibling band Zechs Marquise premiere a wild new video today courtesy of Consequence of Sound. The clip, for "Everlasting Beacon of Light" -- a standout track from the band's latest album, Getting Paid -- features surprise cameos, some very intense and very real gangster dudes, animal-headed people in the desert and much more awesome weirdness. Watch VIDEO HERE. 

"Everlasting Beacon of Light" was directed by The 90s. Zechs Marquise also recently posted a live in-studio video session for performing the title track to the album. Watch it on Vimeo or YouTube

RCRD LBL recently premiered an MP3 for album track "Mega Slap". Check out the MP3 HERE. Stream full album HERE

Zechs Marquise, the El Paso, TX quintet are back with their sophomore album Getting Paid, bringing an intensified swagger to the band's multifaceted psych-prog haze for their most aggressive and versatile effort to date. "We liked that hip-hop attitude," explains drummer Marcel Rodriguez-Lopez of the album title. "Getting your piece, taking yours." And, Getting Paid certainly finds the band fully taking charge of their musical destiny. 

In the years since their auspicious 2009 debut Our Delicate Stranded Nightmare, Zechs Marquise toured extensively throughout the U.S., proving to be a formidable live act supporting Omar Rodriguez Lopez Group and RX Bandits as well as leading their own headlining tours. Zechs Marquise have also grown considerably in other ways. Recent addition Rikardo Rodriguez-Lopez on keyboards and trumpet joins his brothers, drummer Marcel and bassist Marfred alongside guitarists Matthew Wilkson and Marcos Smith contributing to the band's expanded sound. Not only have they reached new plateaus of entrancing riffs and rhythms, but Getting Paid also integrates vocals on select songs, including guest performances by vocalist/guitarist Matthew Embree and El Paso singer Sonny Baker.

Getting Paid was released on LP/CD/Download on September 27th on Rodriguez Lopez Productions via Sargent House

Artist: Zechs Marquise
Title: Getting Paid
Label: Rodriguez Lopez Productions
Release Date: September 27th, 2011

01. Getting Paid (VIDEO - Vimeo) (VIDEO - YouTube)
02. Lock Jaw Night Vision
03. Static Lovers (MP3)
04. The Heat, The Drought, The Thirst, and The Insanity
05. Time Masters
06. Guajira
07. Everlasting Beacon of Light (MP3) (VIDEO)
08. Crushin' It!
09. Mega Slap (MP3)

Hi-res cover art, photos and bio:

On The Web:

No comments: