Thursday, February 24, 2011

Boris release first track from forthcoming album Attention Please

Iconoclast Japanese trio Boris have released the first single from Attention Please -- one of TWO all-new full length Boris albums to be released on the same day via Sargent House this spring. The song, "Hope" premiered today via Pitchfork and is available HERE

The track showcases new aspects of the distinctly different sides to the legendary band's personality that can be heard between the pair of albums, Attention Please and the all new Heavy Rocks (not to be confused with the 2002 album of the same name). A track from Heavy Rocks is expected to debut soon.

Boris are widely known for their ability to breach styles and stretch sonic boundaries of all that is heavy, psychedelic, droning and downright cathartic. But, Attention Please is more like a complete redefining of their potential in several ways. First and foremost, it is the first album on which all vocals are sung by lead guitarist, Wata. While she has previously sung on a couple of songs for singles and her solo outings, the entire 10-song album features her intimate, multifaceted vocal style. 

Secondly, the songs on Attention Please have a sultry, intoxicating catchiness to them. It's melodic without sounding pop. It's psychedelic without sounding dated. It's heavy without relying on barre chord riffs. 

The album opening title track begins with a pulsing kick drum as hushed, seething guitar and bass slither across the beat. Wata's cooing vocals drop in like a whispered warning of treachery to come in the threadbare musical landscape. "Hope" bursts forth like Sonic Youth on a detuned pop jangle, while "Les Paul Custom '86" sounds like a beautifully mutated hybrid of Serge Gainsbourg's playful "Ford Mustang" and the brooding intensity of The XX. Throughout, Attention Please sounds vaguely akin to a guitar-based Tangerine Dream covering Technical Ecstacy-era Black Sabbath

Attention Please came to be after Boris toured the world in 2008 in support of their last album, Smile. The trio set about recording new material and a new album was completed, then abandoned. The band sought to challenge themselves further, and the end results are two new albums of dramatic growth and the most powerful extension to Boris' unparalleled creativity, Attention Please and the all new Heavy Rocks (not to be mistaken for their earlier 2002 release, Heavy Rocks). 

Boris formed in the early 90s as a four piece just-for-fun endeavor with the sonic template of influences like Melvins and Earth. By the time of its 1996 debut as a trio Absolutego (later released in the US via Southern Lord in 2000), Boris had already hit its stride in creating unique ground-rattling heavy, melodic music. The group, bassist/vocalist Takeshi, guitarist/vocalist Wata and drummer/vocalist Atsuo went on to release nearly 20 studio albums, as well as numerous collaborative albums -- including projects with Merzbow, Sunn0))), Ian Astbury and Michio Kurihara of Ghost (who also currently tours with the band as second guitarist) -- EPs and singles on various labels throughout the world. For a further in-depth band history and discography, please see HERE

Attention Please and its counterpart, the all new Heavy Rocks will be available worldwide (excluding Japan) on LP, CD and digital download via Sargent House on May 24th, 2011. The vinyl edition of Heavy Rocks will feature extended versions of "Missing Pieces" and "Czechoslovakia". 

Artist: Boris
Album: Attention Please
Label: Sargent House
Release Date: May 24th, 2011

01. Attention Please
02. Hope   (MP3)
03. Party Boy
04. See You Next Week 
05. Tokyo Wonder Land 
06. You
07. Aileron
08. Les Paul Custom '86 
09. Spoon 
10. Hand in Hand 

Artist: Boris
Album: Heavy Rocks  
Label: Sargent House
Release Date: May 24th, 2011

01. Riot Sugar
02. Leak -Truth, yesnoyesnoyes-
04. Jackson Head 
05. Missing Pieces
06. Key
07. Window Shopping
08. Tu, la la
09. Aileron
10. Czechoslovakia
On the Web:

Hi-res photos, cover art, bio and more:

Members of Boris are available for interviews. For more information, please contact Dave Clifford at 

No comments: