Thursday, November 2, 2023

Shotmaker hosts Bandcamp Listening Party tonight 11/2 playing forthcoming 3xLP retrospective box set in full


Photo: Shawn Scallen

“Vastly under appreciated... This is essential listening.” — Exclaim! 

"A beautiful record of... a band that made music history." -- CvltNation

Solid Brass Records and members of Shotmaker today host a Bandcamp live Listening Party for the forthcoming triple LP colored vinyl retrospective of the Ottawa, Canada 90s post-hardcore trio. The deluxe, band-curated box set A Moment In Time: 1993-1996 is out on November 3rd via Solid Brass Records.

The listening party starts at 7pm Eastern Time tonight, Thursday, November 2nd. Fans can RSVP and join the event HERE.

Pre-order/pre-save and share 3 singles HERE. CvltNation recently ran an in-depth interview with the band, looking back at their early days HERE,

SHOTMAKER was formed in 1993 by three friends from the small towns of Tweed and Belleville in Ontario, Canada: Matt Deline (drums, vocals), Tim McKeough (guitar, vocals), and Nick Pye (bass, vocals). The band relocated to Ottawa in 1994 before ending its run in 1996. The band is widely recognized for influencing the direction of emo and post-hardcore music. 

During their relatively short time together Shotmaker harnessed the collective creativity of the Canadian DIY community to make something special happen. They wrote and recorded two 7”s, two LPs, a split LP (with Washington, D.C., based Maximillian Colby) and numerous songs for compilations and other split records. The band thrived on playing live shows and completed three coast-to-coast North American tours in addition to many smaller tours. They regularly shared the stage with bands like Policy of 3, Los Crudos, Unwound, Rorschach, Cap’n Jazz, Indian Summer, Rye Coalition, Modest Mouse, Propagandhi, Hoover, Clikatat Ikatowi, Blonde Redhead and Fugazi.

A Moment in Time: 1993-1996 is a band-curated, 3xLP box set on colored vinyl. Also included is a 12 page booklet with never before seen images from Canadian photographer Shawn Scallen who chronicled much of the band's history. All the music has been mastered for vinyl by Brad Boatright at Audiosiege in Portland, OR.

A Moment in Time: 1993-1996 will be available on limited edition 3xLP on three colored vinyl and digital on November 3rd, 2023 via Solid Brass Records. Pre-orders are available for North America HERE, UK/EU orders HERE.

Artist: Shotmaker

Album: A Moment in Time: 1993-1996

Label: Solid Brass Records

Release Date: November 3rd, 2023

A1: Sky

A2: Shortwave Radio

A3: Uninhibited

A4: 4

A5: Bailer

B1: Now and Then

B2: Failure

B3: Reconstructing Barriers

B4: Controller Controller

B5: Driver

C1: Satellite Screens

C2: Security

C3: Drifting

C4: In Motion

C5: 10/22/94

D1: Curve

D2: Drown

D3: Two Left Standing

D4: Table

E1: The Game

E2: Archaeologist

E3: Blocks and Channels

E4: Untitled

E5: Spark Lights the Friction

E6: Newest Sound System

F1: Believe In

F2: Rope and Pulley

F3: Add and Subtract

F4: Fine Day

F5: One Two

F6: In Betweens

F7: Nick’s Question

F8: I Say

On The Web:

No comments: