Monday, December 5, 2022

Holy Water (ex-Heat Dust) share debut single from forthcoming album via Metal Injection

Austin band Holy Water share the first single single today from their forthcoming self-titled debut album via Metal Injection. Hear and share "Waterest Him With Tears" HERE. (Direct Bandcamp)

Heavy music is experiencing a renaissance of innovation and creativity, while most of contemporary music genres have stagnated in recent years. 

Case in point: Holy Water, a powerful new step merging heavy doom guitars, stoic experimentalists like Caspar Br√∂tzmann Massaker and Khanate mixed with early 80s proto-industrial sounds like Psychic TV and The Leather Nun, metalgaze melodies and hints of Wovenhand’s gothic folk. Yes, that’s a wide range of styles, but it shows just how deftly Holy Water, the nom-de-tune of vocalist/guitarist Jasper den Hartigh cuts its own sonic space. 

Jasper den Hartigh was previously a member of critically praised New Orleans post-punk band Heat Dust, which released a handful of recordings on The Flenser label and toured with Thou and The Body

Holy Water’s 11-song eponymous album was self-recorded in 2021, at home and at den Hartigh’s Austin rehearsal space. Help on drums came from Andrew Stevens, guitar from Neckbolt’s Ben Krause, and vocals from den Hartigh’s wife, Sarah Contey. 

“The album came after an extensive creativity exercise I did called Compost-Turn,” den Hartigh explains. “In which I put out 7 releases from friends and myself as physical bookmarks. When it came time to work on a self-titled solo project, this helped the songs appear rapidly. This album was my attempt at making a pop-record, while trusting my gut, using lessons learned over the course of my entire musical life. From being in punk bands, to playing slowcore, to ambient noise, and heavy metal. The songs all have references to Dutch fairy tales but also contain more personal writing.” 

Holy Water will be available on cassette and digital on February 3rd, 2023, LP to follow in summer. Cassette preorders via Primal Architecture, digital via Bandcamp and LP via Time Release.

Artist: Holy Water

Album: Holy Water

Record Label: Self-released / Primal Architecture (cass) / Time Release (LP)

Release Date: February 3rd, 2023

01. Burning Handle

02. Waterest Him With Tears

03. Break My Back

04. Sky-Flayer

05. With Hoarse Note

06. Persistent Dream

07. Water Rotted

08. Latter End More Than The Beginning

09. Sit Down, Restless

10. Struggle Into Life

11. There Was No Lock

On The Web:

No comments: