Wednesday, May 22, 2024

The Red Scare shares new single from forthcoming Solid Brass Records discography reissue, plays Dark Days, Bright Nights Festival

"Off-kilter and totally on point... Their musical impact on the underground is still being felt until this very day." -- CvltNation

Late 90s Knoxville, TN band The Red Scare share a new single today via CvltNation from the upcoming remastered reissue of their complete discography on Solid Brass Records. Hear/share "Sequenced For Explosion" HERE. (And on all DSPs HERE.)

The Red Scare was formed by four college friends in Knoxville, TN, in August of 1997, bringing together Matt Hall's explosive and unique drumming with Kip Uhlhorn's frantic guitars, Abby Wintker on bass, and Adam Ewing on 2nd guitar. 


The Red Scare began playing locally, building a name for themselves with short but propulsive sets likened after those of the Sleepytime Trio and Gravity Records heroes, Heroin. By 1998, Jon Asher had replaced Adam Ewing on guitar and the band embarked on their first tour with Milemarker, Orchid, and Hail Mary


Capillary Lockdown came in November of 1999; an album of apocalyptic visions and propulsive, almost overwhelming rhythms. The album was released on vinyl by Hand Held Heart and CD by Troubleman Unlimited.


In June of 2000, they toured again with Orchid and Lightning Bolt and then recorded Strangers Die Everyday at Inner Ear Studios. On this release they melded together explosive songs like "Risking Your Life With a Capital R" and "Smoky Mountain High" with strange metallic collages. The guitars, while still edging on brutal, also emit dreamy segments like that of the title track. This would prove to be their final album together as Uhlhorn moved to New York City. He would go on to form Panthers (with 3 members of Orchid) and eventually, Cloudland Canyon. Matt Hall went on to play in New Brutalism.


Smoky Mountain High is a collection of both LPs, all their 7”s, and live recordings from WNYU. It will be released digitally and as a Limited Edition 2xLP on Red and Ultra Clear vinyl on June 14th via Solid Brass Records. Pre-orders are available HERE


09/13-15 Richmond, VA - The Broadberry - Dark Days, Bright Nights Festival

Artist: The Red Scare

Album: Smoky Mountain High 

Label: Solid Brass Records

Release Date: June 14th, 2024

01. Automate Insection

02. Device For Annihilation

03. Jetset

04. 12 Years Past

05. Post Meridian

06. Crushing Blows

07. Inertia /Distance To Empty

08. Earache

09. Full Steam Ahead

10. Jetset (45 version)

11. Epiphany #2

12. Sequenced for Explosion

13. Send Me An Angel

14. Risking Your Life With A Capital R

15. Smoky Mountain High

16. Strangers Die Everyday

17. Cranial Masses

18. Kodaliths

19. Asphyxial Eclipse

20. Iron Curtain

21. Five Months In Poland

22. Automate Insection (Live WNYU)

23. Kodaliths (Live WNYU)

24. Smoky Mountain High (Live WNYU)

25. Post Meridian (Live WNYU)

On The Web:

No comments: