Tuesday, May 2, 2023

Long-lost 90s DIY band GRAIN share new single from forthcoming retrospective on Solid Brass Records


“Innovative ideas and flawlessly structured musicianship… GRAIN’s sound gradually arrives through many calm segments, melodies, and harmonies, but it also strikes hard like a sledgehammer when you least expect it.” — Thoughts Words Action 

Los Angeles label Solid Brass Records shares a new single today from the forthcoming retrospective album by defunct 90s post-hardcore band Grain via Thoughts Words Action. Hear and share "Trout" HERE. (Direct Bandcamp.)

About Grain We'll Hide Away: Complete Recordings 1993-1995:

Grain were a punishingly loud post-hardcore band who left their mark everywhere they played. Simultaneously angry, urgent, and beautiful in a single 30 minutes set, they left hardcore purists confused while others wanted more. They were punk, both philosophically and from a community standpoint, and yet not so easy to pigeonhole musically. 

Northeast Ohio has been home to a dizzying roster of influential punk bands for decades. In the late 70s and into the 80s there was Rocket From the Tombs, Dead Boys, Pere Ubu, Devo, The Cramps, The Mice, and more. In the early 90s it was also known for hardcore bands like Integrity, Confront, Face Value and Splinter. In the mid 90s there was another musical shift happening in the underground community around the country and Northeast Ohio was no exception. Across basements, VFW halls, and other DIY music spaces a new crop of bands was emerging. These new bands, often born from the ashes of more traditional hardcore bands just a few years prior, had broadened their musical influences and their respective sounds were often more polished, dynamic, and lyrically diverse.

Grain originally formed as a 3-piece in 1993 in Cleveland after the break up of three previous bands; Arm’s Length (Brian Strazek), Blatant Disregard (Dean Eshleman), and Windpipe (Jason “Jay” Kuebler). 

In their short time together Grain released two 7”s, a split 7” with Harriet The Spy, and three songs that appeared on a couple different compilation LPs. Grain played close to 100 shows, completed a short tour of the northeast in 1994, and a month-long US tour in 1995. They shared the stage with bands like Lincoln, Kerosene 454, Ordination of Aaron, Current, Samuel, Harriet The Spy, Thumbnail, Avail, and Archers of Loaf before breaking up in 1995. 

We’ll Hide Away is a complete discography of Grain’s recorded material. It is also a snapshot into the mid 90s post hardcore sound of the Midwest. This vinyl-only release has 10 tracks, an extensive booklet with never before seen live pictures, show flyers, and written memories from friends and bands. It also includes a download card for four previously unreleased songs. Everything was painstakingly remastered by Dave Gardner at Infrasonic Mastering in Los Angeles and sequenced in a way that both captures the evolution of their sound and pays homage to the memory of Ryan Rinella (1975 - 2010) and his time with the band.

We’ll Hide Away will be available on LP and download on August 25th, 2023 via Solid Brass Records.

About Solid Brass Records:

Solid Brass Records started in 2022 after a few friends from the 90’s DIY music scene reconnected over their shared appreciation for the community, people, and bands that influenced them 30 years prior. They decided to pool their collective knowledge and resources to start a label focused on reissuing music from that period as well as showcasing new bands similarly inspired by this scene. 

Artist: Grain

Album: We’ll Hide Away: Complete Recordings 1993 - 1995

Label: Solid Brass Records 

Release Date: August 25th, 2023

01. Intro/Homestead

02. Nibble

03. Jim Thorpe

04. Pause

05. Springboy

06. Trout

07. Hickory

08. Anthem

09. Void

10. The Thrills of a Race Car Driver

11. Jay (download only)

12. Breathe (download only)

13. See Through (download only)

14. Untitled (download only)

On The Web:





No comments: