Tuesday, May 23, 2023

CLUB COMA (ex-Boyfrndz) share lead single from forthcoming debut album


Austin trio CLUB COMA share the lead single from their forthcoming debut full length today via New Noise Magazine. Hear and share "New Cruelty" (Bandcamp) (Spotify) (YouTube).

Club Coma is a new Austin experimental rock group comprised of guitarist/vocalist Scott Martin, drummer Aaron Perez (both previously of Boyfrndz) and keyboardist/bassist Geoff Earle (Stiletto Feels). Pulls together an exciting, genre-bending sound that lives somewhere between Rock, mid-aughts French touch, and early 1970’s R&B. Martin and Perez’s former band’s hazy, psychedelic and powerful rock takes on new melodic shades with layers of synths and more danceable rhythms with Club Coma. 

Club Coma formed in late 2022 after the indefinite hiatus of Boyfrndz, and after Geoff's solo endeavor Stiletto Feels slowed post-pandemic. Scott, seeking a new outlet as a vocalist after Boyfrndz hiatus, asked Aaron to keep an ear to the ground for groups -- realizing Geoff's group Aaron played drums for since 2017 may be interested. Scott and Geoff happened to run into each other a couple days later, quickly falling into weekly work sessions. Club Coma came out swinging, selling out their first headline show at Mohawk in April 2023 before any music had been released.

The band's self-titled debut album recorded with Jim Eno at Public Hi-Fi will be out this summer. More details to come. 

Artist: Club Coma

Album: Club Coma

Record Label: self-released

Release Date: Summer 2023

On The Web:




No comments: