Tuesday, October 12, 2021

Zach Hill (Death Grips), Xiu Xiu, others share tracks from Zum compilation also feat. members of Amps For Christ, Acid Mothers Temple, Yellow Swans, et al.


Longstanding California record label Zum Audio announces the forthcoming 32-track compilation Zum Audio Vol 4 today, sharing 4 of the songs via Brooklyn Vegan. Hear and share tracks by Zach Hill (Death Grips, Hella), Xiu Xiu, Body Double and Prissy Whip HERE

Zum Audio Vol 4 surveys a cross-section of this decade’s art rock, punk, damaged electronics, and improvised music. Unconstrained by the limitation of previous CD incarnations, the thirty-plus tracks here span musicians from the US, Canada, Japan, the UK, Italy, and Australia. Curated by George Chen (KIT, Common Eider, King Eider, Chen Santa Maria), a writer and musician-turned-comedian, these international connections grew out of years touring the US and Europe as well as promoting all-ages events in the San Francisco Bay Area. 

For more details and short bios for all 32 artists, click HERE.

The wishlist for this compilation was like putting together a virtual festival, which was conveniently the only type of festivity during COVID-19. Between established legacy acts on the Zum label (Body Double, The Acharis, My Heart, an Inverted Flame, Core of the Coalman, Somnambulists, Neil Campbell), veteran associates playing in new configurations (Spaceburn, The Skin Horse, Carrom, Gabriel Saloman), and newfound discoveries (Barbican Estate, It Sound, Bavaria), one senses the continuity of expansive tastes that has defined the long-running series. 

Zum Audio Vol. 4 will be available for download & streaming via Bandcamp on November 5th, 2021. Other digital streaming platforms will have the compilation a few weeks later on November 19th. Pre-orders are available HERE

Artist: Various Artists

Album: Zum Audio Vol 4

Record Label:  Zum Audio

Release Date: November 5th, 2021

01. Alien Owl Cafe - Magick Matcha Moment
02. My Heart, an Inverted Flame - Five Felt Sevenly, Pallid and Sallow
03. Looose - It Was All Nearly Mine!
04. Kris & Tavi - Carrington Event
05. Earth Jerks - July 17th, 1959
06. The Urxed - Re-Regional
07. Prissy Whip - Not Impressed
08. The Acharis - Nothing’s Sacred
09. Body Double - Prisonous Mind
10. Watkins/Peacock - Stone Cold Stole Dub One
11. It Sound - Inbetween the Seas (Lectric Sand Dub Mix)
12. Michael Beach, Bonnie Mercer, Carla Oliver, Peter Warden - Kyneton #1
13. Barbican Estate - Abandon
14. Maskara - Dear Inertia… (#3)
15. Xiu Xiu - A Bottle of Rum (Live Radio)
16. Core of the Coalman - Incarnate Words
17. Somnambulists - Discordances
18. Spaceburn - New Growth
19. Pod Blotz - Remote Viewing Case #80787
20. Cube - Carpet ESP
21. Zach Hill - Startled Ea
22. Necking - Abyssal Joy
23. Chris Brian Taylor - Super Reverse Commuter
24. Jasmine Dreame Wagner - Three Themes from Drifts (Red Zone, Blue Ice, White Snow)
25. Father Murphy - His Face Showed No Distortions (Live at WFMU)
26. Neil Campbell - Rickety Bridge in the Rain
27. Bavaria - Nouveau Couteaux
28. Carrom - Number 4 (A.T.S.T.S.)
29. Kern Haug - to Mass
30. The Skin Horse - High Desert
31. Gabriel Saloman - Spatial Poetics
32. John Benson - Blood and Milk

No comments: