Friday, October 8, 2021

The Shining Tongues (ex-Infinite Three) drop 2 tracks from forthcoming debut (FFO: The Veils, Angels of Light, Spiritualized)

Swans-esque distortion in a Godsticks-like anthem… Brings a modern spin on their dark roots with a Bauhausian creep and haunt, and occasional The Cure’s proggier moments. A bold introduction.” — Prog Magazine

“A psychedelic folk aesthetic with a shade of post-punk darkness, balancing the rich otherworldliness of Spiritualized with the haunting melodies of Ocean Rain-era Echo and the Bunnymen.— Treble

“5.5 out of 5!” — Zero Tolerance Magazine

London, UK band The Shining Tongues share two new songs from their forthcoming debut album Milk of God today, "Annihilation" via The Spill Magazine HERE and "Rice" via It's Psychedelic Baby HERE. (Hear both at Bandcamp.)

New Noise Magazine recently premiered the video for "It Is Fear" HERE. (Direct YouTube.) TrebleZine recently hosted the first single, "Buildings" HERE

The new expansive collaborative project picks up where their former band The Infinite Three left off. When that trio’s drummer Paul Middleton passed away suddenly in October 2019, the surviving members Daniel Knowler and Sam McLaughlin decided the band couldn’t carry on with a replacement. But the grieving process brought about a flood of beautiful new music and soon The Shining Tongues were born. The album was written as an open collaboration with numerous players contributing remotely to the recordings throughout 2020.

Taking their previous band’s post-punk experimentalism and adding an atmospheric gothic folkiness, this is a new beginning and a lush, melodic work of intensity, love, noir pop, gothic folk, drone and more.

Milk Of God displays the fruits of The Shining Tongues' labour and features contributions from Robin Jax (RobinPlaysChords), Andrea Kerr (LWED), Orlando Harrison (Alabama 3), Lilith Firechild, Doug Shearer (Scow) and Simone Bozzato.

Daniel Says of the album, "Milk Of God is the culmination of the first phase of The Shining Tongues’ work and after a decade of The Infinite three coming to an end, this album feels like a rebirth of sorts."

Milk Of God draws on themes of dream imagery, life cycles, religion and the body. Eleven songs that drift from earthy rhythms to elegiac beauty and weave together influences from drone, psychedelic rock, nocturnal folk and soundtrack music.

Milk of God will be available on CD and download on October 15th, 2021 via Actual Size Music. Pre-orders are available HERE.

Artist: The Shining Tongues

Album: Milk of God

Record Label:  Actual Size Music

Release Date: October 15, 2021

01. The Idiot Skin

02. Buildings

03. It Is Fear

04. Eating Bread

05. Rice

06. Natural Slab

07. Annihilation

08. Swallow Heaven

09. Humming/Dissolving

10. The Undefiled Absorption of Supreme Bliss

11. Make Us Eat

On The Web:

No comments: